Back To The Future Shock

Lado ABC / Lado A/9
release date: 19.06.2013

1. Rockit
2. Future Shock
3. TFS
4. Earth Beat
5. Autodrive
6. Rough
7. Rockit (Mega Mix)*
* CD bonus track

Precisely 30 years after the original album's release, LXMP offers its take on Hancock's 'Future Shock' - the record from which everybody knows, and loves, the piece 'Rock It' and nothing else. The record which was supposed to be the dawn of the 21st century and so on and so forth. To answer the commission of Unsound festival, whose theme for 2011 was "Future Shock" (a reference, naturally, to Alvin Toffler's book), Piotrek and Maciek decided to take the easy path and delve into the world of synthesizers, the back-then-ominous MIDI sound, digital reverbs, horrific longueurs and Bill Laswell. In their interpretation, they did all they could to cross out everything from that list, except the synthesizers. And the drums. And the broad use of the vocoder. And Thymme Jones of Cheer-Accident who laid down the drums on the title track. Before the release, the band managed to showcase the material at a few live gigs in Poland, Europe and the cradle of futureshockism - the US, where their rendition met with deep understanding and respect from the MIDI people. 'Back To The Future Shock' is published in two formats: CD and LP. To honor historical truth, the CD features a bonus track - a remix of 'Rockit', created by Brazilian artist Mauricio Takara.


<< DISCO / back